DIY Sudafed Shower Soothers

A few years ago I tried an amazing product by the makers of Sudafed called Shower Soothers. These awesome little disks got me through so many sinus infections! One little disk in my shower completely cleared my nose, let me breathe, and helped all the gunk drain from my sinuses. They worked better than any antibiotic or over the counter medicine ever did. And then one day suddenly they were gone from the shelves at every pharmacy! You can occasionally find them on amazon for nearly $50 for 3 disks! WHAT?!

 

I figured there had to be a way to make them myself, but I didn’t know how to go about it. Then I found this great little tutorial by Frugal by Choice and all hope returned and just in time! My boyfriend (at the time, now husband), Patrick, had been feeling slightly under the weather and we had a wedding party get away to attend in the Dells. So perfect time to try these babies out!

While Frugal by Choice’s tutorial is a good one, I did have to make some changes here and there to make these work for us, and I did make one mistake that I will definitely be changing in the future. But all in all I’m very happy with the results!

What you’ll need

IMG_20140501_113224

  • Baking Soda about 1 1/2 cups
  • Water about 2/3 cup
  • Essential Oils: Rosemary, Lavender and Eucalyptus, which I purchased at my local VitaminShoppe
  • A large mixing bowl
  • Mixing spoon
  • One table spoon for scooping
  • Muffin tray and liners
    • Or rubber try without liners

First, preheat your oven to 350F. By the time you’re done with the other steps, your oven will be good to go!

Then I added my Baking Soda to the mixing bowl and slowly added my water. The original tutorial called for 1 cup Baking Soda and 1/3 cup of water, but I found to fill the muffin tray completely I needed about 1 1/2 cups of soda and 2/3 cups of water. Add your water slowly. The consistency should be like pancake batter. Once you have a good mixture stop adding your water and stir to thicken up the mixture.

IMG_20140501_113621

Now, scoop your mixture into your muffin tin, using one table spoon scoops per disk. Make sure you are using liners around your disks, otherwise getting these babies out won’t be easy!

IMG_20140501_114256

Here’s where I would do things a little differently next time! I used paper liners, like the ones that decorate your cupcakes. I found that once these baked up and cooled, some of the paper stuck to the bottom of the disks. Not THAT big of deal, I will just have to make sure they don’t go down the drain once these have dissolved in the shower If you can find the thicker metallic ones that have the wax paper liners, I would recommend using those. But they may be a little more expensive.

By this time the oven should be heated up and ready to go. Place your disks in the oven for 20 minutes.

IMG_20140501_114355

After your 20 minutes in the oven, remove the disks from the heat. Let them cool for a few minutes before continuing to the next step.

IMG_20140501_120109

Add a few drops of each oil rosemary, eucalyptus, and lavender to each disk. If your disks are still piping hot from the oven you may notice some steam or “smoke” come off of each one when you add the oil. Your disks are too hot. You’re burning off the oil and your disks won’t have as strong of an effect in the shower. Give them some more time to cool before adding more oil.

IMG_20140501_120126

Now, let your disks chill before removing them from the liners. I put mine in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes until they were completely solid. Once they have cooled, pop them out and store in a plastic or glass container until it’s time to use them. Just toss it on the shower floor and get ready to feel amazing!

IMG_20140501_215745

These are even great if you aren’t feeling under the weather, but want a little “spa treatment” at home. They can irritate the eyes a little so be sure to avoid standing directly over the vapors.

I hope you found this tutorial as easy, fun and useful as I did! If you have any other suggestions for how to make these better, please feel free to leave me a comment!

20170508_151936

Mandy at NiteDreamerDesigns

Handcrafted Swarovski Jewelry

Jewelry that Makes a Difference

 

35 comments

  1. Morning. I am so in love with this recipe!! And tried it last night. It was not a complete fail, but I think I need to tweek the recipe a little. I can not find baking soda. The closest we come to that is bicarb of soda. Not sure if that is quite the same thing as your baking soda. My mixture looked nothing like pancake batter and once baked the discs were unbelievably brittle. So I think I must change the water to bicarb ratio and bake it longer. Will let you know how my second try went! Thanks Marlene

    • Bicarbonate of soda and baking soda are the same thing. I found a 12 pound bag of it in the swimming pool supply section at Walmart.

    • Well, I am afraid that my first attempt was an utter failure! I used paper cups and they really stuck to the baking soda. The discs were also brittle as mentioned above and they quickly dissolved into crumbles as I tried to remove them. A few discs survived, but they did not smell up the shower like I expected them to. They quickly dissolved down the drain! But I am determined to try again and tweak the recipe! I really like the idea of shower discs and want to make some for gifts!

      • I tried these last night and it sounds like I had the same outcome as you did. Did you tweet the recipe and have a good result? I’d be curious to know what you did??

  2. Thanks for sharing this great idea! I haven’t made the shower tablets, but I did use your essential oil mix in a coconut oil base as a natural “vick’s” rub. It has worked great on my kids and myself!

    • That sounds like a great idea. Especially for those of us who are allergic to the vicks rub! I get a chemical burn within a few seconds of putting it on every time! I’d love to know what oils you used and what you used for your base. 🙂 I hope these work for you. I use them all the time.

      • Yes, and I try to avoid petroleum based products when possible. I used a few tablespoons of organic coconut oil, then mixed in equal parts of rosemary, lavender, and eucalyptus essential oils. I think it was about 15-20 drops of each- enough to get a good strong smell but not too strong (I started off with about 10 drops each, then kept adding till it smelled “right”). A small bit goes a long way!

  3. I just made these in a silicone muffin tin without a paper liner and it worked well! They easily pop out. Thanks for the idea!

  4. I have made these several times. I make mine about the consistency of wet sand and put in silicone candy molds. They come out easily and pretty. I only use Young Living oils…the quality of the oils are key. Can also use different oils and use as car air fresheners. Place in shoes to take out stinky odors, etc etc

  5. am i the only one who can’t get them to make my shower smell ?? they dissolve but thats it… no amazing scent and I’m left wasting my high quality EO’S

    • Are you adding you EO’s while the disks are still very hot? If so, they are likely dissipating before they ever make it to your shower. Also, make sure you are storing them in a tightly sealed glass container, or again, the EO’s dissipate before use.

    • When you measure out the baking soda, measure it like you would flour, don’t pack it down or you’ll end up with too much. You can also try baking them them for a little less time so they don’t dry out as much and place them in the freezer to help solidify them.

  6. If you use coconut oil do you still use any water? Please give me the recipe for using coconut oil. Do you still Bake them? New to this, Never made before.

    • I wonder if you could use cornstarch instead of baking soda? Also could you possibly use a spray like Pam on the pan & not use the paper liners, if they would just slide out? And ins there some other place I could buy the oils? We don’t have a vitamin shop really close by.

      • I’ve never tried using Pam so I’m not sure how well it would work. Others have suggested using the silicone trays instead of a metal muffin tin. I could see either option being viable. Essential oils are often sold at spas, massage therapists offices, and a ton of places online like Amazon. I just found the vitamin store to be the cheapest option in my area. I hope you feel better! 🙂

  7. I wonder if you used something like “Pam” to spray the muffin pan & just not use the paper liners at all, if they would just slide out after cooling.??? Just a thought. Also, is there any other place I could buy the oils? We don’t have a vitamin shop really close by. And I am so sick at the moment. I thought this would maybe open my nose a bit.

  8. My daughter and I made these back in Oct. we put them in her bathroom, and they molded with in a day of making them. Did we do something wrong? How do you prevent this from happening?

    • I have never had these mold before and I’ve kept them for months after making a batch. You may have added too much water? Also make sure to store these in a moisture free container, like a glass jar.

    • if they were not completely dry before you put them in a container, that may be the cause of mold too. make sure they dry for at least 24 hours if you don’t bake them, and I would double check them if you do bake them. I had mine come out of the oven still damp in the center, so I let them air dry overnight to be safe.

  9. I doubled the recipe and it filled 24 mini cupcake liners and 4 large. I added peppermint to the “batter” then afterwards I used the oil blend Breathe Easy from Nature’s Touch. 🙂

Leave a Reply

